Getting the Magic Back

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything and I’ll get to that in a minute. First I have a big announcement to make! Last week I had a short novella accepted by Dreamspinner Press! It won’t be out until July 2016 so I don’t have many details yet, other than it will be released as part of a special promotion that month. I am super excited though!

One of the reasons I’m excited is because that story was the end of a year-long writing drought for me. After I wrote a story for the Goodreads Love’s Landscapes event last summer, I promised myself that my next goal was to write a full-length novel. I felt ready to try something larger and the only way I knew I’d be able to do it was to not let myself get distracted by another short story picture prompt or submission call.

Then my EDJ got busy. My freelance side business got busy. And since both of those jobs pay the bills they had to take priority. The busy pace carried over into 2015 and next a personal issue got added into the mix. I swear the first half of this year just felt like I had a dark cloud hanging over me all the time. Not that life was bad, just kind of a “meh” feeling. Just filled with nothing but trying to put fires out and keep my head above water.

Finally at the start of this summer things started to ease up a bit and I told myself I had to get started writing again. Except…it just wasn’t happening. I knew how the last half of my novel would go, but I just didn’t quite know how to start it. (And no, I didn’t want to start in the middle and write out of order).

So…I decided I would write one more novella, for a submission call, just to see if I could get myself writing something—ANYTHING— again.

And it worked. The short story amazingly got accepted by Dreamspinner. Then I wrote another short ficlet for the Married in Vegas blog tour just because I loved the theme and had to write for it. And last week, the beginning of my novel came to me! I’m only a few paragraphs in, but it’s a start and I know it will flow from here. My goal now will be to keep myself on track and keep writing on it.

I’ve been listening to Elizabeth Gilbert’s (the author of Eat, Pray, Love) podcast series called Magic Lessons this week and have been super inspired. In it she talks to 5 different women who all were feeling stuck in their creative lives and wanted a jumpstart. She gives advice and encouragement and also gets advice from other authors, artists,etc. who are actively working in the creative world every day. So much of it resonated with me, whether it was remembering why I started writing back in 2009, or why I needed to kickstart myself and keep writing now. I don’t think it’s any coincidence that the reason I felt like I was slogging away for the first half of this year was because I wasn’t writing. We all need something in our life that is an escape or an oasis of joy from the day-to-day drudgery. A point of light that gets us through and gives us hope and something to look forward to. For many people that is their creative outlet. And right now, for me, that is writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

